Bishop’s Inaugural Awards Announced

During the inaugural dinner Bishop Shelton Fabre will recognize recipients of our inaugural Faith in Action Award, Matthew 25 Catholic Charities Award and the Seminarian Champion Award, to a layperson or permanent deacon who models Christian stewardship and has an outstanding record of volunteer service, high moral character and exemplary values. Parishes, schools and community members nominated a number of well deserving individuals who exemplify strong stewardship qualities. The Catholic Foundation board of directors reviewed all nominations and selected three individuals. The Bishop’s Faith in Action Awards recipient will be awarded to Mr. Charles ‘Mike’ Callais. The Matthew 25 Award will be awarded to the Danos Family in memory of Mr. Allen J. Danos and the Seminarian Champion Award will be awarded to Dr. James ‘Jimmie’ Peltier.

In addition all nominees will be recognized for their tremendous support throughout the diocese. Nominees include: Deacon Vic Bonnaffee, Ben Bordelon, Deacon Sam Burregi, Mr. and Mrs. Morris Hebert, Deacon Gary Lapeyrouse, Paul Maclean, the late Marvin V. Marmande and Deacon Glenn Porche